The Conservative leadership contenders have been confirmed

The candidates for the Conservative leadership contest have now been confirmed.

Nominations closed at 17:00 BST and candidates needed eight fellow MPs to endorse their campaign in order to reach the next stage of the process.


The ten candidates to receive the necessary nominations to proceed to the parliamentary voting stage are as follows:

Boris Johnson

Michael Gove

Dominic Raab

Jeremy Hunt

Esther McVey

Matt Hancock

Rory Stewart

Mark Harper

Andrea Leadsom

Sajid Javid


Not one of the candidates consistently voted against Theresa May’s Withdrawal Agreement.

Matt Hancock, Dominic Raab, Jeremy Hunt, Michael Gove and Esther McVey all outlined their intentions at campaign launches on Monday but the bookies favourite Boris Johnson has laid low from the cameras, instead using his weekly Telegraph newspaper column to announce taxation reforms including a rise in the 40p income tax threshold from £50,000 to £80,000 if he becomes prime minister.


Elsewhere, both Jeremy Hunt and Michael Gove refused to rule out delaying Brexit beyond October 31 if they won the leadership contest.

Votes among the Conservative parliamentary party will now take place each Tuesday and Thursday as the leadership hopefuls are scaled down to two, at which point the decision becomes a matter for the Conservative Party membership with the winner of the contest – and new prime minister – being announced in the week commencing July 22.