Boris wins first round of Tory leadership race, backed by 114 Tory MPs

The first round of the Tory leadership race has seen Boris Johnson win easily, backed by over 100 Tory MPs.

Latest stories direct in your inbox

Sign up for the free Red Alert email:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The result of the first round was: Michael Gove 37, Matt Hancock 20, Mark Harper 10, Jeremy Hunt 43, Sajid Javid 23, Boris Johnson 114, Andrea Leadsom 11, Esther McVey 9, Dominic Raab 27, Rory Stewart 19.

Leadership hopefuls needed the backing of at least 17 Conservative MPs to go through to the next round.

It means Leadsom, Harper and McVey have been eliminated.