185 Labour MPs vote for freedom of movement to continue

The Labour Party turned its back on millions of working class voters in Parliament yesterday, voting for a plan that would have seen EU open borders continue forever.

Labour’s 2017 manifesto was quite clear: “Freedom of movement will end when we leave the European Union.”

Yet the so-called ‘Common Market 2.0’ plan they backed by then Conservative MP Nick Boles, states: “Under Common Market 2.0 we would participate fully in the Single Market, which entails freedom of movement.”

Jeremy Corbyn, Diane Abbott and 183 other Labour MPs backed the open border plan, going directly against their manifesto and ignoring the vast majority of Brits who want to see border controls in place and net migration slashed to sustainable levels.

Trade Unionist Paul Embery said of the reversal: “Labour comes out in favour of keeping free movement – an utter betrayal of traditional working-class people, the majority of whom oppose it and voted to end it in the referendum. The party will pay a heavy, but deserved, price for this at the ballot box.”

Incredibly, even 33 Conservative MPs backed the move including the likes of Ken Clarke, Damian Collins and Nicky Morgan.

The SNP’s 32 MPs backed the sell-out plan too along with Plaid Cymru, 2 Liberal Democrats and 5 Independents.

Some Labour MPs did have the decency to reject the immigration u-turn, with 25 Labour MPs voting against, along with the DUP.

Overall, the plan was rejected by 282 to 261, causing the architect of the plan Nick Boles to throw his toys out of the pram and immediately announce his resignation from the Tories proper.

Just what the hell do MPs think they’re playing at backing freedom of movement that was so overwhelmingly rejected at the EU referendum in 2016?